Twelve Republican Senators Rebuke Donald Trump


Twelve Republican Senators Rebuke Donald Trump, Vote to Terminate National Emergency
Twelve Republican senators voted Thursday to terminate President Donald Trump’s national emergency, siding with Democrats to rebuke his attempt to use funds not appropriated by Congress to construct portions of his southern border wall.
Those senators included Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Rand Paul of Kentucky, Mike Lee and Mitt Romney of Utah, Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania, Jerry Moran of Kansas, Rob Portman of Ohio, Roy Blunt of Missouri, Marco Rubio of Florida and Roger Wicker of Missouri. All Democratic senators voted to terminate the declaration.
But the president has reiterated he will veto the measure, immediately tweeting after the vote, “VETO!” In a subsequent tweet, he added, “I look forward to VETOING the just passed Democrat inspired Resolution which would OPEN BORDERS while increasing Crime, Drugs, and Trafficking in our Country. I thank all of the Strong Republicans who voted to support Border Security and our desperately needed WALL!”
It will be the first veto of Trump’s presidency, with a second soon to likely follow due to his intention to also veto a resolution passed Wednesday that would end U.S. support for the Saudi-led war in Yemen. Seven Republicans sided with Democrats on that vote.AMIBC® - VOTE! BE COUNTED! BE HEARD!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.